Fireplace Mantel

We moved into our new home a few years ago and I remember walking through our home for the first time and instantly fell in love.

 There was only one problem I had to tackle a dated brick fireplace. Our home was built in the late 60’s and the brick showed its dated age.

The bright red brick and dark deep gray cement was reminiscence of 60’s style.  The fireplace was in need of some updating.  I loved the brick and texture and the sweet curve  of opening.  I did not want to paint because if you paint you tend to lose the character of the brick. The solution lots and lots of grout.  I could regrout the brick but, the trick was not to cover and smother all of the brick.  Two large buckets needed, one for water with a big grout sponge the other for the grout mixture. Grout mixture needed to be a sanded texture not smooth. The color of grout I choose for this project was a light sand color.

I tackled this project in one whole entire day and I am talking literally 12 straight  hours of regrouting until my arms were ready to fall off. My new neighbor came by and I think he thought I was nuts!

 The existing  mantel was once a dated solid piece of oak. I had removed this and placed a thin marble mantel but, this was not the look I was going for either. I was lucky enough to have presented to me for $20 a thick old beam that had aged nicely and had great character.

I love the big old knot and cracks in the wood.

 My mantle is deep enough now to hold some beautiful local artist paintings, clean unscented white candles because I am fragrance free girl and smooth ocean rocks collected from my husband’s days of surfing. Antique English andirons add a little extra something special.

I love my fireplace.

If you have a dated fireplace don’t cover it up see if you can work with it. Take your time to really think what you want.  I may live near Cape Cod but it doesn’t mean I have to cover up beautiful brick with white beadboard.

Choose a different path and embrace it!


You never know what you may find!

From Chic Home & Antiques!

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in refinished, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Fireplace Mantel

  1. Stacy says:

    That is INCREDIBLE! Soooo much better, and worth the effort! Love it,
    Stacy

Leave a comment