Office Space

I have been spending a lot of time in my office these days as well as some other small visitors to remain nameless.

So considering that I have to share my space with these little people I decided to enlist a little help from them as well, might as well start them early and teach them while they are young.

The previous color of my office space was called Italiante from my favorite paint of course Benjamin Moore.  The space was mix of chocolate-brown and terracotta.  I wanted some calmness in this space and decided it was time for a change.

Prep work always takes the longest. Necessities blue painters tape, spackle compound and 150 grit sand sponge.

With the holes filled and sanded it was time to paint.  Remember the prep work will pay off in the end.  Poor prep work = poor outcome.   Good prep work = great outcome.

I am loving the new color of a soft gray non other than a matte finish in  Grey Owl from Benjamin Moore. Antique art work that I picked up from one of my favorite local antique shops and of course an antique chandelier from Spain always adds an air of elegance and old world.

My classic antique chair that I found on Craigslist 3 years ago and paid $60.00,  works as my desk chair. The seat is wide enough for 2 of my small people to rest upon.

A recovered vintage tufted slipper chair sits in the corner of my shared office space.

Love tufting.  I feel in love with this fabric a few years ago which was actually a duvet cover for a king size bed.  I thought why not? Let’s use the fabric.

 My previous curtains were a bit too heavy and too formal for my office space.  Have you been to JC Penny lately?  Well I know I know I have not walked into a JC Penny for about 15 years but, I was on the hunt for a not too expensive curtain. Not mention I love JC Penny’s new comercials with Ellen- hilarious!  These curtains were at the right price and the fabric was just what I was looking for.

You can always be creative with office space. Always keep thinking and always remain creative. Look at what you have in your home. Ask yourself what can I use this for? Can I reuse this? Where can I use this?  Move things around and keep it fresh.  Make it your own space.  What are the things you love and wish for?

Fill you life with the things you love.

From Chic Home & Antiques!

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in office space, refinished and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Office Space

  1. eightyfivemab says:

    Looks great! I enjoy your blog!

  2. Cynthia Ray says:

    Love what you did in your office… About to create a new office space myself and on a VERY limited budget. Thanks for the tips! Cheers to your new creative workspace.

Leave a Reply

