For The Love Of Urns

I must admit I have a love affair when it comes to an old pair of urns. A welcoming balance  when displayed as a  pair.

A place to display summertime sea shells

or  fall foliage.

Halloween decorations in my house.

Winter holidays to display my poinsettia.

This particular pair of wrought irons came up from South Carolina.  Originally painted a dark forest green in excellent condition.

I  couldn’t resist the size, shape nor detail on this great pair urns. Although the color wasn’t quiet what I was looking for but, that did not stop me from purchasing this great pair. Heavy wrought iron urns in the car we go!

A little sanding, priming, painting and a little more sanding gave me the look I was hoping for. Aged to perfection with a little help from me!

I came across this pair of cast iron urns this past summer.

There was a lot of raised rust on the surface. Nothing that a little sand paper and elbow grease wouldn’t take care of.

A little bit of work was worth the effort. Take a look at the great lion head.  He needs to guard the entrance of someone’s home.

This great pair is available at Chic Home & Antiques and is also located at Acushnet River Antiques.

What graces your front entrance? Display your desires with a  wonderful pair of urns.

From Chic Home & Antiques!

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in antiques, urns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For The Love Of Urns

  1. Stacy says:

    So gorgeous, especially with the poinsettias!
    Stacy

  2. debby says:

    I love urns at an entry or on a patio! I gave my favorite one to my Mom because she had the perfect spot for it! I should get her some Christmas greenery for it! xo

Leave a Reply

