Favorite Whites

Some of my favorite white pieces did not last long after I gave them a new life. This classic 4 drawer fluted column mahogany  bureau with dovetail drawers was picked up at a thrift shop for a price of under $100.

I love the style of the bureau and the fact it was all mahogany, drawers were all intact and moved with ease but, the finish was not worthy at the state it was in. Plus I just felt like being creative.

The top especially showed a lot of wear and tear, scratches and nixs.

After a little sanding to smooth out some of the rough edges, primer and paint the bureau was ready to be recreated. Now the fun begins…

Add in a touch gold and glaze and  a little gently distressing wala!

Another piece I picked up for under $100 was this great 2 drawer sideboard table.  I was drawn to the beaded detail on the drawers and the spiral detail on the upper legs and fluted lower legs. I couldn’t resist what the outcome would be with this great piece.  I saw great potential.

Time to get to work.

Every now then I have a little extra help.

I was not in love with the dark stain and the piece had so much detail I wanted to accentuate this.  Out came my sander…

My sander and I  have a love hate relationship but, OOHH the power of a sander.

All the hard boring dirty stuff is done, let creativity begin..

Starting to take shape.

 Loving it.  This piece lasted only a week at Acushnet River Antiques. I guess I should do more like this.

Use your imagination and get creative!

From Chic Home & Antiques!

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in antiques, bureau, refinished and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite Whites

  1. Stacy says:

    I loved the writing and sentiment of this post, and the pieces you transformed are simply STUNNING. You are very talented!!!
    Stacy

Leave a Reply

