Moving On…

Well soccer has officially ended as of today and I am officially off to  move to a larger space to accommodate all of my new but, old furnishings over at Acushnet River Antiques.

After a little early morning clean up of my fabulous flea market find my round cherry table is ready to go.

Sometimes we come across an antique piece of furniture but, we have a tendency to walk away because of a little splatter of paint, or it’s the wrong color, or love the style but it’s for a dining room.

A little splatter of paint is an easy fix. With a little elbow grease and a fine grade steel wool you will have your piece cleaned up in no time.

Thankfully this table only had very fine speckles of white paint. Still some wear but with wear shows age and with age shows character.

Love the brass claw feet with great patina.   Listed on Chic Home & Antiques.

Just because a piece is called a dining room table doesn’t mean you can’t use it for kitchen table.  Just because a sideboard is made for a dining room doesn’t mean you can’t use it for your daughter’s room.  If  the finish on a piece is not worthy then think about painting it.  Use your imagination, especially if the price is right.

Love my new space just have to put it together now.  Enlist husband, Mom and Dad. Sounds like a perfect plan to me- what would we do without family? They inspire us, support us and motivate us.

My work is done here. Come find me at Acushnet River Antiques.

You never know what you might find or who might run into!

Happy shopping, mix it up and break out of the catalog mold!

From Chic Home & Antiques

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in antiques, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

