Antique Lighting

I believe good lighting can always set the mood for a quiet moment or for a joyous celebration and this October has had its fill of both. I enjoy turning on the lights  with a dimmer of course but, my husband always seems to be behind me reminding me of our electrical bill. Anyway the right setting, wattage and lights can do wonders for a room never mind your skin tone.

I would have a chandelier dangling from every ceiling if I could.  Some of my favorite chandeliers that I have picked up during my travels and hunts are from Spain and Italy.

This is beautiful antique chandelier is from Spain all antique brass with dangling crystals resides over my dinning room table.

I discovered this sweet tear drop pewter chandelier for a Haute friend of mine.  As I was assisting her to decorate her new home I came across this light and called her immediately.

I said “Kim you have to buy this!”

 She debated “I don’t know is it too much?”

“What” I said “too much are you kidding!”  Well after a little persuasion she said “you are right.”  I gotta hand it to my Haute friend she hung that chandelier all by herself electricity and all!  You go girl!

Currently dangles from a beam over her dining room table- LOVE it – reminds me of a princesses crown.

Chandeliers don’t always have to be placed over a table. How about a bathroom? We all need complimentary lighting as we powder our noses.

This upright antique lamp can add just enough lighting to snuggle on the couch with a good book. If I only I really had time to actually sit on the couch to read a book….

The jade stone adds a wonderful touch along with the curve of the arm.

This amazing pair of once retro/dated looking lamps have been turned on to light the house of an incredible seaside home.

I enlisted the help of my Merchant Marine husband and his friend to assist me on this project. The old links were removed and my husband and  his merchant friend intertwined the nautical rope and wire. For a finished nautical look they performed what is called a back splice with nautical twine to hide the end pieces of rope.  The outcome was amazing and what character they added to this already well decorated  incredible  seaside home.

I can not wait to see this original Holophane light on display. I could not leave this amazing light which once hung in Boston’s South Station.   Your coming with me!

100 % all nickel, big and heavvyyy!

While I was redoing my kitchen  a few years ago I came across some great hanging pendents lights in a magazine article. I thought I must have those.  Well reality set in and I remembered I can’t quiet afford $1000 for each pendent light considering that I needed three.  I thought ok Carol let’s get creative.

I found these pendent lights at only $100 each, granted they weren’t swarovski cyrstals but, I am not telling.  They arrived in a disappointing silver color metal hhmm not what I was looking for.

I removed the silver links and replace them with an older style antique brass link, spray painted the cage and the wire with antique gold spray paint.

 Waaalla! Magic!

You can get what you want with a little imagination. Don’t ever let anything stop you!

Light up your life and believe in yourself!

From Chic Home & Antiques

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in lighting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Antique Lighting

  1. Wow, the chandelier is beeautiful!:)True, good lighting can change the ambiance of any room or space. The little known fact is, hues and lighting go together. Have a great year ahead!

Leave a Reply

