Groovy Baby!

Take a look at some of these true retro chairs that I have picked up and remember to keep an open mind of what the future may hold for these true original Mid-Century pieces.

True original I would say fabric and all!  This chair has great lines, solid, high back and very comfortable.  Now look past the groovy 70’s mustard yellow and think modern.

Did you look past it yet?

Okay I am thinking…..

He’s thinking to…..hhhmmmmm.  Actually this chair is very comfortable,whenever I had visitors stop by my workshop the first thing they would do is pull out this chair and have a seat.  High back, curved arms, deep seat the chairs beckons you to sit.

Grey modern fabric would bring this piece to modern times

Possibly with silver nail head trim along the perimeter of the arms, sides and back.

 Throw in a little purple throw pillow and bang … this chair looks hot!

This next pair needs no introduction and no imagination required.  These chairs will put your everyday ordinary country cane chairs to shame.  With their sleek slim legs,extra high narrow back and clean cane seat.  OOOhhh very nice as a pair.

I found this little pair of well-kept chairs for under $100. Could not resist.

Great shape, great walnut legs but the fabric has to be updated.  I like the idea of keeping with a pattern but let’s update this pattern for a more modern feel.

The future is very bright  for these original Mid-Century pieces.

From Chic Home & Antiques

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in fabric, mid-century, refinished, retro, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Groovy Baby!

  1. Sharon says:

    I can’t wait to see that yellow chair when you are done with it! It has great lines.

Leave a comment