Antique Sofa

I  forever have wanted an antique sofa.  A  unique sofa, something long with one cushion, great legs and great wood work with beautiful curves.  I finally found my sofa at one of my  favorite antique shops.

As you can see from the looks of the background in this photo it was in a place where you must have an imagination and take it out of its origin.

1.)     Check the arms and all 6 legs.  Give them a good wiggle.  Are they stable? Are they cracked?

2.)    Sit on the seat cushion.  Just make sure you don’t have your favorite pants on. Are the springs in good shape?  Or do you sink in a deep hole?

3.)    Price tag?   Is it reasonable?

Remember it takes time and money when you are thinking of re-upholstering a piece.   So make sure it is in good condition before your purchase.  Once you purchase you own it!

Next question:

1.)  Do you have someone to pick it?  Do they own a truck?

2.)   Do you have a fabric store?  How much yardage will you need. $$$

3.)  Do you have an upholsterer?  Will they pick up and deliver for you? $$$

4.)  Take some final measurements, take a picture and ask the shop if they could hold it for you for a day.  Measure out the dimensions in your home and place the photo in its destination.

5.)  Last question Will it work?  Really work ?  Make sure!

I am happy to say this sofa passed all the questions and the end result…

Classic elegance restored.

Well worth all the work.  I did find my fabric at $20/yard.  I did have a truck and I did have a great upholsterer.

My favorite part of this antique sofa are the curved arms and detail on the wood work frame.   Just so beautiful and unique.

This is one piece of furniture in our house that I have to say:

“Can I have just one piece of furniture that is not abused by my lazy dog, active sticky finger children and sandy surfer husband”

PLEASE!!!

I think they got the message LOL!  Every now and then I do let them sit on the sofa- if there clean 🙂

Happy Antique Sofa!

From Chic Home & Antiques

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in antiques, custom, sofa and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Antique Sofa

  1. Love it Carol-sticky fingered children & sandy surfer husband about sums it up over here too- plus furry lazy Rats (cats ) that lounge on anything when we are gone…..

  2. Nancy says:

    As usual you never cease to amaze me with your talents — the sofa is beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

