Got Character?

What has character?  May I ask what do you have that has character?  Is it a piece of furniture? Is it a piece of clothing?  What sets something apart from something or someone?

I was asked to locate a piece of furniture for my friend Cynthia Bliss Ray this past Spring.  “Character” she says I need something with “character.”

Character you say-  I am on it!   I am on a mission to find that perfect bureau with character!

I found it!  Beautiful, walnut wood, mahogany wood, detail, character, great lines, 1920’s depression era.  Fantastic!

Ok I know it has been splattered with paint and has old water marks all over the top. YIKES!

Well okay maybe it needed a little work.  Cynthia was happy with our find and so was I. This was an easy fix.

Not bad, not bad at all.

Wonderful!

Character adds so much to a room.  The beauty of age and history means so much to me. I am passionate about beautiful pieces that have been left and have been neglected. Pieces that need to be brought back to life and to be loved once again.

We all need a little character and a reminder to be brought back to life.  Appreciate what we have in life because we all have so much!

Be passionate about life and

Grab some character!

from Chic Home & Antiques

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in antiques, bedroom, bureau, refinished and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

