Tufted Headboard

I decided it was once again time for a change. Out went the old wrought iron headboard in came the new tufted headboard.   I scoured my Veranda, House Beautiful, Restoration Hardware and Pottery Barn magazines just to get some ideas of what direction I would like to head in.    Consulted with my Mother ( who is always right)  and said this is a job for Dad.   Ok Dad I need to make a headboard, he says “you need to make a what?”  I need to make a BIG headboard 6 ft tall and  6 1/2 ft wide.    The next day he was at the Lowes  with the purchase of  supplies and in a week I had the bones of my headboard.

Now when my father builds something he builds it for life. This headboard is going to last forever!

Back of the headboard. Note the bracing, also custom mahogany legs with custom trim work. Now waiting for pickup in my garage to be brought to the upholsterer. This headboard was so big it did not fit into my husbands truck, it had to be tied to the roof of a bigger truck. Oh boy :).    Fabric was next on my list. I brought along my team of experts and  off to Fall River we went to locate a few last standing mills housed with  great fabric at discounted prices.  It  saddens me when I see all of those beautiful brick mills that once used to employ the hardworking American, now sits boarded up and empty.  The work and jobs are now sent out of the country  😦 .     

Well we located 5 yards of a cotton/linen white fabric.  At a very good $/yard.  My kind of savings. My very talented upholsterer did an incredible job and worth the wait.  113 Tufted buttons to exact. WOW!!!

Headboard was up but, something just looked wrong.  I know the bed needs to higher!  I purchased those bed risers for college students at Ocean State Job Lot for cheap $.  Approximately $5.00 for a package of 4.  I needed 6 for the king size bed. I removed the existing standard risers from the standard bed frame to gain a total of 6 inches. Perfect, now the bed sits at 32 inches high.

Whenever I find myself changing one thing it seems to snowball into another.  Need new bedskirt.  No one seems to carry bedskirts in stock anymore, you have to order online. Ok, I will admit I am not an online ordering  person. I am a hands on type of person, I need to touch, feel, smell and hold before I purchase anything.  I am desperate and Pottery Barn seemed to have the nicest organic cotton, a drop of 18 inches, pleats and buttons. Ok online order complete and I must say worth the price $160 by the time I spent for shipping. Ouch! The bigger the bed the bigger the price tag. Added a couple of extra blue coral reef throw pillows from Pen and Pendulum of Mattapoisett for believe it or not $20 dollars each.

My night table lamps are an antique grey marble with a Chinese Dragon in brass that I picked up a year ago at an antique shop.

I will be honest with you my bed is not always made up in the morning, I am guilt free of that task! Let it go to those of you who are bound to make your bed every morning!! In the end I love love my new headboard!
Now and then someone else really likes it too!  🙂

Especially at 2 in the morning.

Goodnight and sleep tight from Chic Home & Antiques!

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in bedroom, fabric, headboard and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

