Trunks

Did you ever wonder how many  voyages, destinations and places an old trunk may have traveled.  Think of the stories an old trunk could have.  This past year I had the opportunity to refinish some old trunks and bring them back to life.

One of my favorite trunks was discovered at an antique shop by a friend of mine local interior designer Cynthia Bliss Ray of Mattapoisett.  She gave me the challenge to bring back the original color of the trunk-  leather brown.  This trunk dates back to the 1800’s with great iron hardware and wonderful detail. Admire the iron shell detail and iron scroll work. The unfortunate concern was that the previous owner painted the trunk bright red! ooohh not good.

But I am always up for the challenge and won’t stop until it is right.

I don my white painting attire and one of my favorite working hats- husbands old surfing baseball cap.  Mix up a secret concoction of oil based brown paint and glaze.  I had the red tones underneath but I needed to get it back to leather brown.

I am getting there but, not quiet yet. Note the bottom of the trunk is actually the original color.  The previous owners did not paint the bottom.SUCCESS!!   This wonderful trunk now resides in an old Historic Captain’s house. Fitting I would say.Another fun trunk that caught my eye was a Coastguard locker trunk.

Property of Commander William W.Childress of the USCG.  I researched the USCG and found he was once aboard the United States Coast Guard Ship The US Taney.  Whose first mission was commissioned in 1936 WWII.

This type of locker would house the Commanders personal belongings.  A little cleaning of the wood with a mixture of vinegar and water to remove some of the mold that had accumulated over so many years at sea.

This trunk from Boston has brass hardware and  leather strapping.  These can make great coffee tables or when stacked on top of another trunk make great sidetables that add interest.  I liked this trunk but I saw it needed a little touch up to make it more appealing for a buyer.  Out came my brushes.

That’s better!  This wonderful trunk now waits at Acushnet River Antiques in New Bedford MA for a new home.

Happy travels from   Chic Home & Antiques

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in antiques, custom, refinished, storage, trunk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trunks

  1. Kate Hoekstr says:

    IS the rawhide trunk from a Boston company? I have one in perfect, unpainted condition.
    Willing to sell. Kate

    • Hi Kate,
      Thank you for your interest in Chic Home Antiques! Yes the trunk is from a Boston Company. I am currently not in need of acquiring any more trunks at this time. Thank you,have a great day!.-Carol

Leave a Reply

