Asian Secret

I recently had a wonderful opportunity to recreate a few pieces of furniture that were not neccessarily old but the owner was moving into a new home and wanted to keep the exsisting pieces but, wanted to create a new look.  The owner currently resided near the ocean and I thought ok …calm ocean colors, green blues and white.  I was wrong, this particular client had a love for Asian decor and was creating a Zen like feel in her new home.   Wonderful! When looking for inspiration I think of old world Asian antiques,

 but still with a mix of modern.

I think antique red, brushed gold, alongside a sharp black with gold accents.

Project: a pair of very well made Thomasville night stands which had a more contemporary new look and a matching slated King size bed.  All with a very light speckled finish.

hhmmm let’s think ….how I am going to achieve the look I want with this little pair?

First don’t be afraid to breakup a bedroom set.  I approached the client with let’s change the pair of night stands but, keep the King size bed and matching bureau the same color. My client was game and I was excited.

Game On!

Power up that sander,put your safety glasses on and  breakout your mask.

I still wanted to reveal the wood grain on the night stands so I stayed away from painting.  Instead I chose a waterbase miniwax stain.  You have the option to custom mix your own paint with this product.  I did not want to go red red my choice Spice from Mini wax.

 This particular color was not red and not orange but just the right amount of red for the look I was trying to achieve.

First coat done….2 more to go……

 Hardware is an easy update to do with your furniture and will give it a whole new look. With my client wanting an Asian feel I went searching online and came across a great website Chinese Brass Hardware.  They had the perfect hardware, nice weight, right price, qick delivery and unique design. Perfect! 

 I loved the look!

 Success!

Ancient Chinese Secret for this little project.  Some gold distressing and rubbed bronze gave these little stands a whole new look.

 Flashback

The top of the furniture had a frosted glass insert, which did not work with an Asian theme.  Out came some gold paint to add just the right affect.

With the bed now painted all black, this project is complete.

What will your fortune read??

 From Chic Home& Antiques!

About chichomeantiquesblog

A lover of unique antique furniture with history and character. I take great joy in discovering forgotten pieces. Pieces that most people would pass by. I have such a passion for discovering, refinishing and repurposing great furnishings. I shop consignment shops, thrift stores, craigslist and of course antique shops to find those special unique pieces. I paint, sand, antique, glaze whatever it may be to bring new life to old furnishings. My life is full of family, good health, happiness, careers, and a very happy well loved home. I have very much to be thankful for in this world that I live today.
This entry was posted in Asian furniture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asian Secret

  1. Antique Beds says:

    The ideas of renovating old and antique furniture is a very good option to made them again for using.The images of asian antique furniture gives us a clear image of importance of antique items.

Leave a Reply

